|
BACKGROUND

About myself

I am a freelance translator. I translate from English, Lithuanian, and Russian into English and Russian. I have 4 years' experience in translation preceded (with some overlap) by 6 years' experience in working as a computer science researcher. I hold a diploma in translation (IoLET Diploma in Translation (DipTrans), English-Russian) and a Ph.D. degree in computer science. I am a Member (MCIL) of the Chartered Institute of Linguists (IoL), UK.

I was born in Lithuania. My mother tongue is Russian, my second language is Lithuanian. I have advanced English language skills (near native command), which I acquired during my master and Ph.D. studies at English-speaking universities (Aalborg University, Denmark, and Washington State University, USA). In the past, I worked at another English-speaking university (Free University of Bolzano, Italy) as a computer science researcher. I wrote/proofread/edited research papers and taught in English.

In 2010, I moved to an English-speaking country (UK). Overall, I have used English extensively for almost 15 years, not only at work/for studies, but also in everyday life (talking to people, reading books, watching TV, etc.).

For additional information, please visit my LinkedIn profile and my University of Bolzano homepage.
Education
Degree Institution Period Language
IoLET Diploma in Translation (DipTrans), English-Russian Chartered Institute of Linguists, UK
City University London, UK
2010–2011 English
Russian
Ph.D. in Computer Science Aalborg University, Denmark
Washington State University,USA
2002–2005 English
Master in Computer Science Aalborg University, Denmark 2000–2002 English
Bachelor in Computer Science Vilnius University, Lithuania 1996–2000 Lithuanian
Russian
English

Membership in professional organizations

Member (MCIL), Chartered Institute of Linguists (IoL), UK


Locations of Site Visitors
Designed by CMG Technologies